The answer to the above question is a resounding: YES!

Have you ever met a caregiver who wasn’t in some kind of pain; emotional or physical? It is what happens when you are the caregiver of a loved one.

As I was thinking about this today, I immediately saw the connection with what Jesus was having to endure. This is Holy Week. Sunday we celebrate the Resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ. Look at what Jesus endured the last days of His life. He is, and always has been, our Primary Caregiver. No one has suffered more as a human being than Christ did for us. He had emotional and physical pain that none of us can possibly fathom in this day and time. Yet, Jesus endured that suffering. He prayed constantly to His Father in heaven.

During my time as a primary caregiver, I too, prayed to my Heavenly Father for endurance, strength, patience, love, understanding, guidance, trust and faith. Did it work? Absolutely! I believe with all of my heart there is no way I could have made it through each and every day without the strength of Jesus. He never said life would be easy and carefree. But He did show me that relying on Him for everything would help me to persevere through some of the most challenging times.

My hope and prayer for those of your who are caregivers, is to turn towards Jesus and ask for His help. He will not disappoint you. Then get down on your knees and thank Him for the opportunity for which He called you. YOU are special. YOU were handpicked to serve as a Caregiver for someone you love. That’s a calling my friends.

2 Thessalonians 1:11 says it best:

“With this in mind, we constantly pray for you, that our God may count you worthy of His calling, and that by His power He may fulfill every good purpose of yours and every act prompted by your faith.” (Emphasis in bold are mine)

Leave a Reply

