Caregiving A Second Time Around

It’s been quite some time since I posted anything on this blog. So much has happened in the last month that has taken me on another caregiving path.

On November 28, 2016 the nightmare of my life would begin. My sister and her family were vacationing in the Smoky Mountains when fires broke out. They were evacuating when it became evident that they were not going to be able to escape this horrific disaster.

My three adult nephews reluctantly left their parents at the insistence of their mom and dad. Miraculously, all three young men escaped. . .their parents perished in the fire.

The three brothers were transported to Vanderbilt Burn Center in critical but stable condition. On November 29th when I was notified of this disaster and not knowing if my sister and her husband were alive, I took the first flight to Nashville with my three daughters.  That’s when my new caregiving role began.

I love my nephews af if they were my own children. I had no reservations about going to be by their side and letting them know I would not leave them. I assured them I would care for them no matter how long it would take.

Another young woman who was like a daughter to my sister and husband, and very close to these young men joined with me as their primary caregivers once they were released from the hospital.

No one ever expects to become a caregiver of any kind, but life throws us curve balls all of the time. You step up to the plate and do what needs to be done.

Learning a new kind of caregiving was in store for me and the other young lady. We had to learn how to properly provide wound care. This is something I never thought I could do or would even be in a position to do. But with the good Lord’s help and this wonderful woman by my side, we both were able to care for these young men in the best possible way.

In many of my past posts I say how taxing and draining caregiving can be. I have to admit I was running on adrenaline most of the time not giving in to being tired or drained. My nephews needed special attention and primo care; I wasn’t about to let that change and neither was the woman who was in this with me. We were on a mission – to get these young men well and make sure they continued to heal in more ways than one.

I’m very happy to say that all three of these guys are healing beautifully and although they, and us, know it will be a long road before the emotional side heals, we’re still in this together helping one another through the healing process.

It seems I’m supposed to be a Caregiver in this lifetime of mine. If that is what the Lord has deemed me to be, who am I to argue with Him?

Once, again, I’m proud to be able to care for those I love so deeply.

One comment

  1. thevirejourney · January 9, 2017

    What a journey! I’ve been following along with your blog and our family will definitely keep yours in our prayers. We had friends that lost everything in those horrific fires, and it has been devastating to see the families that have been impacted. Praying God’s peace and his strength over you today. Blessings! – Bre Vire

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment