peace-1010292_1280

This certainly doesn’t seem like a peaceful time of year. I mean everyone is frantically shopping for that perfect gift or they’re updating their house in some way to prepare for the big family gathering and trying to come up with just the right menu for the BIG feast. So many details to tend to, right?

In the life of a Caregiver there is more to think about than all those things I just mentioned.

Having a loved one in your care isn’t always a peaceful time either; the focus is much different. It could be who is going to help out this year with the caregiving? Maybe it’s no one is able to be with you because of their own personal circumstances. Then what?

I know from personal experience that the holidays were not my favorite time of the year. Working in the hospitality field you know you will work holidays simply because that’s the busiest time of the year. I had no problem with that since my family was 1200 miles away. I actually looked forward to being at work that way I wouldn’t be home alone.

After my shift, on Christmas Eve or Christmas day, I would do my best to come up with something that would be entertaining or as much fun as possible for my mother. It was a hit-or-miss situation since I never knew what kind of mood she would be in. However, the nursing staff always had a festive vibe going on. When I arrived to visit, the Christmas music might be playing or there might be some sort of game taking place. They did their very best to keep the residents engaged in some sort of activity. I always appreciated their love for all the residents.

It was hard for the staff being away from their families too, but this is what they do and it is their calling in life. I never heard complaints about having to work. They brought a peace to the residents.

I, too, had to learn that peace because caregiving isn’t a very peaceful type of occupation. That’s where my faith was so important; without faith I would not have been able to accomplish the role as a caregiver.

I have a beautiful book of devotions by Sarah Young, Jesus Calling. I always feel like Jesus is speaking to me personally when I read from that little book. Today’s devotion was about Peace. It certainly brought back memories of my time as a caregiver because there is a part in there that says:

“You need My Peace each moment to accomplish My purposes in your life.”

No words could be truer now than back then. In order to accomplish anything in this life I need that peace.

Life is a journey for all of us. It makes me wonder why is it that so many people get caught up in the frenzy of holiday hoopla?  Why can’t they find the peace and the real reason for this time of year?  

Another excerpt from today’s devotional might just answer that question.

“Sometimes you are tempted to take shortcuts, in order to reach your goal as quickly as possible. But if the shortcut requires turning your back on My peaceful Presence, you must choose the longer route.”

Let’s not take the shortcut. Choose the peace and reach out to the main caregiver or family member that could use some peace too. Don’t think “material” when you give; there are many ways to show love and that’s the best gift ever!

 

 

Leave a Reply

